Trump nominates Christopher Wray as new FBI director

On June 7, 2017, President Donald Trump announced via Twitter that he would be nominating Christopher Wray (50) to be the next Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation

President Trump on Wednesday said he intends to nominate former assistant attorney general Christopher Wray to be the next FBI director.

“I will be nominating Christopher A. Wray, a man of impeccable credentials, to be the new Director of the FBI,” the president announced on Twitter on Wednesday morning. “Details to follow.”

Wray would replace Acting FBI Director Andrew McCabe, who took over when James Comey was fired by Trump in May.

Wray served as the Associate Deputy Attorney General in former President George W. Bush’s administration and was promoted to the assistant attorney general for the criminal division, before he left to work in the private sector as a partner at the Washington law firm King & Spalding.

During his time at DOJ, Wray became known for overseeing the Enron prosecution task force and playing a major role in the department’s post-9/11 response.

“Chris Wray is an extraordinary person, possessing all the gifts necessary to be a great Director of the FBI,” Attorney General Jeff Sessions said in a statement. “I congratulate President Trump for choosing a leader of proven skill, independence, and integrity, a man in whom all Americans can have confidence.”

Last week, Governor Chris Christie praised Wray as an “outstanding lawyer,” after it was revealed that he was under consideration.

“He has absolute integrity and honesty, and I think that the president certainly would not be making a mistake if he asked Chris Wray to be FBI director,” Christie said.

Christopher Asher Wray (born December 17, 1966) is an American lawyer. Wray graduated from Yale in 1989 and received his law degree in 1992 from Yale Law School, where he served as the executive editor of Yale Law Journal. He joined the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Georgia in 1997 and began working at Main Justice in 2001.

Wray received the Edmund J. Randolph Award, the DOJ’s highest award for public service and leadership, when he left the Justice Department in 2005.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.